Ohio Immigration Attorneys


Effective April 28, 2011 the National Security Entry-Exit Registration System (NSEERS) was eliminated by the Department of Homeland Security as a redundant program. The following countries were removed from, and relieved the nonimmigrant nationals or citizens from compliance with, the special registration procedures under NSEERS: Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Egypt, Eritrea, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, North Korea, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Somalia, Sudan, Syria, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, and Yemen.

The (DHS) had implemented several new automated systems since the inception of NSEERS that capture arrival and exit information on nonimmigrant travelers to the United States, thus determining that recapturing this data manually when a nonimmigrant is seeking admission to the United States no longer provides any increase in security. It is no longer necessary therefore to subject nationals from these countries to special registration procedures of NSEERS compliance